Covitrine

When museum visits are either impossible or restricted, COVITRINE brings Ghent’s museums and their collections to the streets and neighbourhoods. 200 COVITRINE boxes will be distributed throughout the city.
They comprise 20 posters (35 cm W x 70 cm H) that each tell the story of an artwork or object from one of the Ghent museums. Local residents will be hanging the posters in the windows of their homes, thereby turning your daily neighbourhood walk into an astonishing, connecting, comforting and artistic exhibition route. Each poster relates a story in Dutch, but also in another language (from Turkish to French, and from Arabic to Bulgarian).
COVITRINE is a project by ‘Covitesse 6. Versneller van solidariteit’ (‘Covitesse 6. Solidarity Accelerator’), in collaboration with the Design Museum, World of KINA, GUM, Huis van Alijn, Museum of Industry, Kunsthal Gent, MSK, Dr Guislain Museum, S.M.A.K. and STAM.

A box for your neighbourhood

You can request a COVITRINE box for your street or neighbourhood from 1 December 2020 via covitrine@stad.gent. Once you’ve applied, we will make contact and jointly look for 10 to 20 windows in your neighbourhood. We will also work together to establish the best way of getting the posters safely to the owners of those windows. Applications are also welcome from organisations that can easily activate local residents from the same neighbourhood (for example: neighbourhood associations and Facebook groups, parishes, mosques, ...). The idea is to distribute combinations of posters so that you can discover several museum stories on your daily walk. For this reason, we cannot accept a request for an individual poster to hang in your window.

Send your request to covitrine@stad.gent!

Special care will be taken to ensure the covidproof distribution of the boxes.

With the support of vdk bank

Covitrine

En cette période où les visites de musées ne sont pas possibles ou seulement de manière restreinte, COVITRINE se charge d’amener les musées de Gand et leurs collections dans les rues et les différents quartiers. 200 boîtes COVITRINE seront distribuées à travers la ville.

Chacune des boites contient 20 affiches (35 cm L x 70 cm H) sur lesquelles l'histoire d'une œuvre d'art ou d'un objet provenant d'un des musées de Gand est expliquée. Les affiches seront affichées aux fenêtres des habitants du quartier, ce qui rendra votre promenade quotidienne dans le voisinage digne d’un parcours d'exposition étonnant, reliant, réconfortant et artistique. Chaque affiche évoque une histoire en néerlandais, mais également dans une autre langue (du turc au français, de l'arabe au bulgare).

COVITRINE est un projet de ‘Covitesse 6. Accélérateur de solidarité’, en collaboration avec le Design Museum Gent, De Wereld van KINA, GUM, Huis van Alijn, Industriemuseum, Kunsthal Gent, MSK Gent, Museum Dr Guislain, S.M.A.K. et STAM.

Une boîte pour votre quartier

A partir du 1er décembre 2020, il vous est possible de commander une boîte COVITRINE pour votre rue ou votre quartier via covitrine@stad.gent. Une fois votre commande terminée, nous vous contacterons et irons ensemble à la recherche de 10 à 20 fenêtres dans votre quartier. Nous réfléchirons ensemble à la meilleure manière pour faire parvenir les affiches en toute sécurité aux propriétaires des fenêtres en question. Les organisations (associations de quartier, groupes Facebook de quartier, paroisses, mosquées, ...) qui parviennent facilement à mobiliser les habitants d'un même quartier peuvent évidemment nous contacter. L'idée est de distribuer des assortiments d'affiches afin de découvrir plusieurs histoires de musée lors de votre promenade quotidienne, commander une seule affiche pour votre propre fenêtre n’est donc pas possible.

Faites votre demande sur covitrine@stad.gent !

Nous accordons une attention toute particulière à une livraison coronaproof des boîtes.  

Avec le soutien de vdk bank